Screencastify Activity

This week I created a Screencast video using Screencastify. The first thing I had to do was download the Screencastify extension in Chrome. Then I had to decide what I wanted to share with everyone. I chose to discuss HandwritingPractice.net. I was recently turned on to this website from a colleague in the Summer Reading Camp we are participating in. Since I started using it the past couple of weeks, I have seen a lot of improvement in my Kindergartners’ handwriting.

Screencastify allows you to record up to 5 minutes of video for free. You can upgrade unlimited recordings for $49 per year. If you are going to be incorporating Screencastify into your daily lesson plans, it would be very beneficial to upgrade. It was fairly easy to figure out how to use the extension, and it saves it directly to your Google Drive. The hardest part was remembering what I wanted to say and trying to keep it short.

I think I will continue using Screencastify in the classroom by incorporating it into daily lessons. I can use it to demonstrate instruction to my students or highlight content I want them to focus on more. I think it is a very beneficial tool.

Here is the link to view the video I created in Screencastify: https://drive.google.com/file/d/14aBNj4e5LyQQNhl3h1fOQuHpa3MyEx3r/view

5 thoughts on “Screencastify Activity

  1. Hi Heather. I really enjoyed watching your screencast for the digital story assignment. I was not familiar with Screencastify but it seems like a really useful tool for creating instructional videos, especially for students. Your video was really easy to watch and understand. You also showed a really great new website tool that would be useful to a lot of educators.

    Like

  2. This was a great video. I love the idea of screen casting to walk someone else through a website or new tool. I will defiantly have to share this website with the other preschool teachers that I am working with this summer since they have their students practice writing their letters, numbers and name.

    Like

  3. Heather,

    Thank you for sharing this resource! I made a note to try this out with my 4 year old. He is working on tracing and writing his name, alphabet, and numbers. I saw dry erase paper protectors at Walmart the other day in the back to school section that would be perfect to use with this.

    I chose to do an audio recording for this assignment, slightly terrified of creating a screencast video. I can definitely see the benefit of screencasting. Once I get more experience using educational programs and technology, I can see myself creating screen cast videos for my future classroom. You did a great job using Screencastify to demonstrate how to use handwritingpractice.net. (: There are so many different options of things that you can change on this site. I found it cool that there was even an option for cursive.

    Like

  4. Hi Heather, I enjoyed watching your screencast. I had never heard of Handwriting Practice.net, but I am so glad I clicked on your post. At my school, DeNealian font is required. I was excited to see that this website has it as an option. You did a great job with showing how to be successful in using this site. I am actually really excite to explore this site on my own and begin using it with my class.

    Like

  5. Heather,

    That was such a great handwriting resource you shared! You also have a very great way of articulating that is perfect for screen recording!

    I am used to using Screencat-o-matic. I wonder what the differences are between it and Screencastify. I definitely would be interested in looking at it!

    Logan

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started